IFS Therapy

IFS Therapy is about becoming aware of and learning how to maintain presence in that state described by the 8 Cs:

  • Calmness
  • Clarity
  • Compassion
  • Confidence
  • Connection
  • Courage
  • Creativity
  • Curiosity

Oftentimes we get pulled out of that state of being, which in this model is called “Self,” by other parts of ourselves that may feel angry or anxious, scared or worried.  The more extreme the level of these types of feelings, the harder it is to re-find the state of the Cs.  IFS is about gently exploring what is causing the anxiety or fear, finding out how to reassure and resolve, so that C-ful-ness can be one’s normal state.  These various other states are called “Parts,” simply because people tend to say, “There is a part of me that feels _____.”

All parts are welcome.  And all parts are attempting to do something that will help.  Sometimes parts get in fights for control with each other.  IFS is about learning how to mediate between parts and facilitate harmony in your system, in the system that is You, with the goal of being C-full, or “Self-led.”

Please contact me to get moving on this journey.

5 thoughts on “IFS Therapy

  1. Pingback: Illness – Andrea Shreve Therapist

  2. Pingback: Miscellaneous Thoughts – Staying C-ful with the Big C

  3. Pingback: Sugar, Surgery, & Solidarity – Staying C-ful with the Big C

  4. Pingback: On Authenticity – Andrea Shreve Therapist

  5. Pingback: Once again, politics… – Andrea Shreve Therapist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s